Sleeping at Last – Introduction

I think it’s about time I talk about an American artist on here! Ha! I figured Sleeping at Last would be a good one to kick things off.

Okay… I can’t tell you how much I love Sleeping at Last. Whenever I’m stressed or just need to find some clarity, I turn on his music and I am instantly at peace. His powerful lyrics and soothing melodies are some of the finest I’ve heard.

SaL 1

Onto the biography… The band formed in Illinois in 1999 and originally consisted of Ryan O’Neal, his brother Chad O’Neal, and Dan Perdue. However, both Chad and Dan decided to pursue other interests eventually, leaving in 2008 and 2011, respectively. Ryan, however, is still dedicated to the project.

In 2010 and 2011, the band decided to release an EP with three songs at the beginning of each month. The end result is a box set with all 12 EPs called Yearbook. I personally love their yearbook project and the fact that they weren’t afraid to challenge themselves. As a musician myself, I know that writing songs isn’t always easy, and doing it on a deadline can be even more challenging. I think their result, though, is amazing.

In 2013, Ryan began another series of EPs, his Atlas project, with each representing a part of our universe, including space, land, oceans, etc. I have loved them so far and can’t wait to hear what else he has in store.

ā™« Sara ā™«

2 thoughts on “Sleeping at Last – Introduction”

  1. Im so glad you AT LAST decided to post this. I will try not to SLEEP while reading it.
    Oh how I love sleeping at last. and noise trade. and your blog. and possibly you.

Leave a comment